Columbia Threadneedle Prize 2016

Palazzo Strozzi

The Columbia Threadneedle Prize: Figurative Art Today

1 to 24 July 2016

Palazzo Strozzi, Strozzina
Piazza Strozzi
50123 Firenze

About The Columbia Threadneedle Prize

Established in 2008, The Columbia Threadneedle Prize (formerly The Threadneedle Prize) is Europe's leading open competition for figurative and representational art. Each year, the winner receives a cash prize of £20,000 and a solo exhibition for a wider body of their work at London's Mall Galleries. Visitors to the London exhibition are invited to vote for the The Visitors' Choice Award, a further prize of £10,000 to the winning artist.

The Columbia Threadneedle Prize encourages debate about the growing relevance of figurative and representational art by hosting visitor events throughout the three-week exhibition in London. In 2016 the prize attracted 3,828 entries from 1,973 artists from 29 European countries, with 93 works making the final exhibition at Mall Galleries in Central London. 

In 2016 for the first time in its history, The Columbia Threadneedle Prize will travel to Florence in an unprecedented exchange with Palazzo Strozzi. 

The Columbia Threadneedle Prize is supported by Columbia Threadneedle Foundation, the charitiable foundation of Columbia Threadneedle Investments. Columbia Threadneedle has funded the Prize since its inception, demonstrating the firm's long-term committment to supporting the arts

The Strozzina area of Palazzo Strozzi in Florence will be hosting The Columbia Threadneedle Prize 2016 @ Palazzo Strozzi from 1 to 24 July 2016, an exhibition designed to trigger a debate on contemporary figurative art in the work of forty-six international artists selected to mark the prestigious European award known as the Columbia Threadneedle Prize.

For more information please visit the Palazzo Strozzi website

Featured Work

Claire Anscomb - Noel Carroll

Edward Anthony - Ron Arad

Yuki Aruga - Severance

Paul Ashurst - The Co.Op Rothko

Sarah Ball - Immigrant III

Nicola Bealing - Trannack Misfits

Oliver Bedeman - Tom Bedeman

Alison Boult - From The Balfron

Maria Bowers - Justice

Maria Bowers - Lily

Lewis Chamberlain - Play Horse

Peter Clossick NEAC - Summer Solstice

Charlotte Cory - The Ancestral Teapot

Helene Delmaire - Untitled

Gillian Ellis - Only The Curious Have Something To Find

Pauline Evans - Loving Friends I

Maryam Foroozanfar - Robert

Fran Giffard - A Gift From Paradise

Julia Hamilton - Patti

Marie Harnett - Rush

Rebecca Harper - The Yes & The No Pile

Lewis Hazelwood-Horner - Salt in Tea (WINNER)

Delphine Hogarth - New Landscape

Nicholas Holmes - Winston Field

Charlotte Hopkins Hall - Scott (D'Après Matisse)

Gareth Kemp - A Germanic Landscape

Helen Lloyd-Elliott - Study of her Hand

Juliette Losq - Wandle

Graham Martin - Red Road 2015 II

Coll McDonnell - David, Alex, Louis and Sebastian

John Murphy-Woolford - Conversations with Myself

J Carlos Naranjo - El Mameluco (After the Battle)

Robert O'Brien - Ched

Kelvin Okafor - Jasmin's Interlude

Howard Read - The Lost Estate

Stephen Read - Hut 21

Stephen Read - Too Much Intelligence

Paul Regan - Tudor Park

Laura Smith - Shells

Penelope Smith - Stuart and Ukelele

Nikki Stevens - Phoenix Rising

Chris Thomas - Sheep with their Lambs

Tomas Tichy - Tabula Rasa - Selfie I

Susanne du Toit - Waiting for Rex

Shelly Tregoning - Hirsute Series, 1

Roger Woodiwiss - Seaside

Roy Wright PS - The Leaves Cling and Grow Paler

Holly Zandbergen - The River Child

Mind Unit - websites, content management and email marketing for the arts